Majestic

There are several religious and worship songs out there that have been composed based on Bible verses since the beginning of time, and I have been blessed to be part of different choirs and music ministries that are not just able to sing these heavenly songs but have also been able to contribute its original music that many are familiar with and have loved throughout all these years. Out of all the different forms of art, music has the most powerful impact and highest appeal to me. If anybody needed to get my full attention on something or when I would find myself deeply troubled, the appropriate music would definitely get through to me and everything would make sense.

Listening to the combination of beautiful lyrics, captivating melody and harmony, and the perfect singing voice, and when I say perfect it’s not just a single type of voice or range but that voice that fits the mood of the song singing in perfect tune and timing, takes me to a different level of experience. It’s as if I feel my brain and soul opening up to a whole new world where I can just get lost in that beautiful music that I wouldn’t mind listening to over and over again.

And so as I was going through the readings for the day, I remembered this song that I used to sing with a choir called SFC Chorale, which is pretty much based on today’s Responsorial Psalm:

Psalms 8:2, 5, 6-7, 8-9

2 even through the mouths of children, or of babes in arms, you make him a fortress, firm against your foes, to subdue the enemy and the rebel.

5 Yet you have made him little less than a god, you have crowned him with glory and beauty,

6 made him lord of the works of your hands, put all things under his feet,7 sheep and cattle, all of them, and even the wild beasts,

8 birds in the sky, fish in the sea, when he makes his way across the ocean.9 Yahweh our Lord, how majestic your name throughout the world!

These verses from the book of Psalms talk about the beautiful, glorious, and majestic name of our God and in itself it is already powerful. But the song that I am about to share to you, will allow you to feel through your skin and your bones what EXACTLY it means. Even just talking about this is already giving me goosebumps.

Here is a piece called The Majesty and Glory of Your Name composed by Linda Lee Johnson and Tom Fettke. There are many versions out there that are equally amazing, but I just had to choose one. 🙂

I pray that as you go through today’s readings and listen to this musical piece, you get to experience and deeply understand the glory and majesty of our God.

You may listen to the song here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EaDL_06OjKg

ctto: First United Methodist Church, Wichita Falls, TX

Leave a comment