Declutter

Out with the old and in with the new! That’s a common expression especially during the holiday season moving on to the brand new year. I am one of those people who, after the celebrations and festivities, busy themselves with making plans and catching up with all the cleaning and decluttering that has been put off all year round. This year’s decluttering is extra challenging because I am not only dealing with a year’s worth of things to go through but…yearssss. And while I now have to painstakingly go through every single item in every single storage box that exists in my apartment, I am pretty optimistic that I will finally get it done this year because I actually have a very strong motivation to do so – I need to move to a new home before this year ends or else. Decluttering is actually fun. So far, with every item that I’ve sold and those that I’ve decided to throw away, it feels really good to see progress being made, not to mention the reminiscing that happens when I see old items that bring back so many memories. And I know that when this is finally over, I can pat myself in the back for a job well done and move forward with my life!

This kind of reminds me about life in general, especially when it comes to issues or problems that we try to run away from, hide, or ignore for as long as we can. We think we’re getting away because we’re able to move forward to bigger and better things without having to deal with it. But sooner or later, we are going to hit a stumbling block where the only way to get around it is to face the reality of the past head on.

So friends, if you’ve got any baggage or troubles that are keeping you from living life to the fullest, now is the best time to face them head on. Because no matter how long it takes, I guarantee you that at the end of it all, sweet victory awaits.

So what are you waiting for? Time to declutter! 🙂