Happy Friday!

Finally! The last working day of the week. 😛

The weekend is coming up but at the same time I can’t believe that it’s already been a week since this new year started! Now I’m thinking, what have I done? Have I been productive? Where am I now with my goals? Do I still have the same energy and mentality when I told myself that I was going to make this an amazing year? Okay, there goes my overthinking. 😀

But honestly, as much as I am excited about the weekend because of all the things that I’ve got planned, I love Fridays because it serves as a reminder for me that it’s time to slow down and check on myself. In the many years that I’ve been working, I often find myself wrapped up in work that I no longer have any sense of time or day, and so I end up becoming really exhausted and really hating the world (now I’m exaggerating a little bit but you get the idea). If I were to go deeper into that, I think it was because of the belief that everything was under my control and that I could keep going as long as I had the will to do so that fueled me to keep moving ahead, not realizing that it was already taking a toll on my physical, emotional, and psychological health; thus, hating the world afterwards (a.k.a. burnout). In reality, I do not have control over everything, and work is never-ending.

So I had to learn things the hard way. Sometimes, even if we know we can still keep going, it’s important to pause and rest every now and then. In this marathon called life, if we truly desire to go far or to become successful in anything that we put our mind to but know that we still have a long way to go, we have to learn how to pace ourselves. This involves knowing when to work hard and when to take a step back so we can recharge, rethink our strategies, and come back stronger.

Remember, it’s not always the fastest who wins the race, it’s the one strong enough to endure and consistently stay on track to actually finish it.

Have a Happy Weekend 🙂