Listening to God Through Others

As someone who has a strong personal relationship with the Lord, it eventually becomes easy for us to listen to Him. Instead of talking to people when we have problems, we immediately seek for His help through prayers and are able to wait for His answer without the influence of others.

But there are times when we find it difficult to listen to Him. It’s not because He hasn’t given an answer yet but it’s simply because the answer He’s given is not what we want to hear. When He tells us to wait, we ignore this because we want something to be done right away. We just want the answer NOW. Then there are times when we get too carried away by our emotions that we are really not capable of listening to what God has to say. We shut our ears to the Truth and just want to make conclusions or decisions based on our own understanding.

Today I have learned that we really cannot do everything alone even when we know how great our God is or how faithful we are to Him. But we can’t just give up and say, “I’m no longer faithful to God because I can no longer hear Him.” We have our family and friends to guide and support us. God works through them too. And sometimes, we really need friends who are different from us in terms of personality and perspective. They can help us see things in a different light. Rather than stick to what we”ve always known, they can tell us objectively the things that we are missing out on. But another important thing is that, we must also keep an open mind. We don’t know everything on our own, so if we seek help from other people, we must be ready to acknowledge their ideas as well instead of getting mad at them for having a totally different point of view. They are in our lives because God has put them for a very good reason. And knowing that reason actually gives a great sense of fulfillment because we would also come to realize that the Lord is so wonderful.

For that person who enlightened me, I hope you are reading this. You don’t know how thankful I am for the time that you spared listening to my contradicting statements. Thank you for shedding a light into my situation. I really do feel better now. It might not be 100% yet, but I know and believe that I will get there in God’s time. I feel blessed to have a friend like you and I know that you will be a greater blessing to others as long as you continue to let God work in you.

1 Chronicles 16:11 “Seek the LORD and His strength; seek His face continually.”